Southeast Michigan Center For Medical Education

Education · Innovation · Community


The Southeast Michigan Center for Medical Education was established in 1974 for the purpose of coordinating and assisting in the education of medical students, medical residents, faculty, and other health professionals.  Its primary mission is to stimulate the delivery of quality care through excellence in graduate medical education and faculty development.

SEMCME is the largest community-based medical education consortium in the Midwest.  There are 212 accredited residency and fellowship programs in 81 specialties and subspecialties, 3,198 approved residency and fellowship positions and over 4,000 university and community faculty.  The consortium of hospitals include:

  • Beaumont Hospital, Dearborn
  • Beaumont Hospital, Royal Oak
  • Crittenton Hospital Medical Center
  • Detroit Medical Center
  • Henry Ford Hospital
  • McLaren Health Care
  • Providence Hospital
  • St. John Hospital & Medical Center
  • St. Joseph Mercy Ann Arbor
  • St. Joseph Mercy Oakland
  • St. Mary Mercy Hospital

SEMCME has an affiliation with the Wayne State University School of Medicine and the Oakland University William Beaumont School of Medicine.   These universities make a vital contribution to SEMCME's education efforts.  SEMCME has established a process of pooling ideas for innovative medical education.  Cooperation among member hospitals and universities and the sharing of knowledge and experience achieves educational benefits which no single institution can obtain alone.