Excellence and Innovation in Medical Education

Awards & Honors

17th Annual Excellence in Medical Education Leadership Award

The Excellence in Medical Education Leadership Award is given to recognize those individuals with outstanding contributions and unwavering commitment to the success of SEMCME.

Robert Dodds, MD

Program Director;
OB/GYN Residency Program, Ascension Health – Michigan Providence Southfield/Novi Hospitals

Associate Clinical Professor, Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine

Adjunct Clinical Professor, American University of the Caribbean School of Medicine

Lawrence R. Fischetti, PhD

Director of Behavioral Science
Family Medicine Residency Program,
Beaumont Hospital-Wayne

Adjunct Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Honoring Allen Silbergleit, MD, Phd

SEMCME is saddened by the loss of one of its founders, Allen Silbergleit, MD, PhD. Dr. Silbergleit was an extraordinary contributor to our organization and the greater medical community. He will be missed.

Trustee Emeritus
March 8, 1928 – October 23, 2021

  • Founding Participant – Oakland Health Education Program (OHEP)
  • OHEP Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Medical Education, July 2003
  • Founding Member of SEMCME
  • Chairman Emeritus of Surgery Committee
  • Developed SEMCME surgery course curriculum
  • Annual Resident Research Forum – sponsorship of multiple award-winning residen
  • The Allen Silbergleit, MD, PhD Annual Lecture in Medicine and Surgery